ACAB = All Coppers Are Bashful

February 16, 2009

39510_sx32_davecasson

Today is the day that Section 58 of the Terrorist Act 2000 comes into play. This makes it illegal for anyone to take pictures of police officers ‘likely to be useful to a person committing or preparing an act of terrorism’. If you do take a ‘piccie of a piggie’ then you may face up to ten years imprisonment.

Will this law be open to abuse? You bet your sweet arse it will…

Abuses of the act so far include…

Sally Cameron was arrested under the Terrorism Act and held for four hours for walking along a cycle path in Dundee. She said:

“I’ve been walking to work every morning for months and months to keep fit. One day, I was told by a guard on the gate that I couldn’t use the route any more because it was solely a cycle path and he said, if I was caught doing it again, I’d be arrested…The next thing I knew, the harbour master had driven up behind me with a megaphone, saying, ‘You’re trespassing, please turn back’. It was totally ridiculous. I started laughing and kept on walking. Cyclists going past were also laughing…But then two police cars roared up beside me and cut me off, like a scene from Starsky and Hutch, and officers told me I was being arrested under the Terrorism Act. The harbour master was waffling on and (saying that), because of September 11, I would be arrested and charged.”

An 11-year-old girl was required to empty her pockets, before being handed a notification slip under the Act.[3]

During the G8 protests in 2005, a cricketer on his way to a match was stopped at King’s Cross station in London under Section 44 powers and questioned over his possession of a bat.[3]

Taken from Wikipedia

Fit Watch have produced a fine aid for defenders of freedom everywhere – available here

Leave a Reply

