Rainsborough Died Too Soon! HE SHOULD NOW REST IN PEACE & ANARCHY!

August 25, 2009

rainsborough
Thomas Rainsborough as played by Micheal Fassbender in 'The Devil's Whore' (which failed to mention Donny!)

There’s a great quote by Col. Thomas Rainsborough on the ANARCHY in ALBION blog…

I shall blow up your buildings a little more and be less open with you than I was before. I wish we all truly wanted to change this cesspool we live in. [sic] And, sir, to say because a man pleads that every man hath a voice by right of nature, that therefore it destroys by the same argument all property [sic]. That there’s a property, the Law of God says it; else why hath God made that law, Thou shalt not steal? I am a poor man, therefore I must be oppressed: if I have no interest in the kingdom, I must suffer by all their laws be they right or wrong. Nay thus: a gentleman lives in a country and hath three or four lordships, as some men have (God knows how they got them); and when a Parliament is called he must be a Parliament-man; and it may be he sees some poor men, they live near this man, he can crush them – I have known an invasion to make sure he hath turned the poor men out of doors; and I would fain know whether the potency of rich men do not this, and so keep them under the greatest and your sister too tyranny that was ever thought of in the world. And therefore I think that to that it is fully answered: God hath set down that thing as to propriety with this law of his, Thou shalt not steal. And for my part I am against any such thought, and, as for yourselves, I wish you would not make the world believe that we are NOT for anarchy BECAUSE WE ARE. NOW LET THE WORLD REST IN PEACE AND ANARCHY!

Rainsborough was murdered in our hometown of Doncaster (in the market place where Primark – of all places – now stands) and we’ve been trying to organise a plaque for him for a while now. We had planned to use something from his most famous quote from the Putney Debates…

“For really I think that the poorest he that is in England hath a life to live, as the greatest he; and therefore truly, sir, I think it’s clear, that every man that is to live under a government ought first by his own consent to put himself under that government; and I do think that the poorest man in England is not at all bound in a strict sense to that government that he hath not had a voice to put himself under.”

But now we definitely want to use…

‘LET THE WORLD REST IN PEACE AND ANARCHY!’

If anyone fancies donating some time or money to help bring the project to fruition then please contact us via verymerrymen[at]gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

